Teamwork makes the dream work

Barcelona, Actual Madrid, Bayern Which membership do you be part of if you wish to win the Ballon dOr

0 12

Robert Lewandowski is on a mission to win the Ballon d’Or, with the striker even going public with the admission that he swapped Bayern Munich for Barcelona over the summer time in a bid to enhance his possibilities of lastly claiming the award.

Lewandowski spent eight extremely profitable years in Germany and was positioned because the favorite to win the Ballon d’Or in 2020 after a peerless run of kind noticed him rating 55 objectives in 47 video games as Bayern powered to a league, cup and Champions League treble. Nonetheless, the striker was then cruelly denied his likelihood by the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic, which noticed the occasion canceled.

The 34-year-old — who did win back-to-back males’s FIFA The Greatest awards in 2020 and 2021, whereas additionally selecting up the 2021 Striker of the 12 months award on the Ballon d’Or ceremony — signed for Barcelona for €45 million this summer time and has stated that his choice was a minimum of partially influenced by a calculated plot to enhance his possibilities of lastly getting his palms on the Ballon d’Or itself.

“I do know that Barcelona is the staff the place essentially the most gamers have received it. I believe the trail is shorter from Barca than from Bayern,” the Polish poacher instructed Marca.

Certainly, statistics show that Barcelona gamers have received European soccer’s most prestigious particular person award extra instances than some other membership — although after all these numbers are considerably skewed by the very fact Lionel Messi received it seven instances throughout his stint at Camp Nou between 2009 and 2021.

Nonetheless, with 11 objectives in his first eight video games for Barca already this season, it actually seems like Lewandowski is critical about chasing down the Ballon d’Or that so cruelly eluded him two years in the past.

Provided that the Catalans have seen their gamers declare the award on greater than twice the variety of events that Bayern have because the inaugural ceremony in 1956 (which was received by Sir Stanley Matthews, Blackpool’s solely recipient to this point), it seems like historical past can also be on his facet.

Stream on ESPN+: LaLiga, Bundesliga, MLS, extra (U.S.)

Barcelona (13 Ballon d’Or winners, 6 completely different gamers)

Over half of Barca’s whole Ballon d’Or wins had been amassed by one man: with Messi answerable for the membership’s final seven triumphs, taking prime spot in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019 and 2021 — the 12 months during which he left the membership to affix Paris Saint-Germain on a free switch.

Previous to Messi’s run of dominance, the Catalans noticed Ronaldinho (2005), Rivaldo (1999), Hristo Stoichkov (1994), Johan Cruyff (1973, 1974) and Luis Suarez (1960) win the award whereas carrying their well-known blaugrana stripes.

Actual Madrid (11 winners, 7 gamers)

Provided that Karim Benzema is the odds-on favorite to win this 12 months’s award, Actual Madrid’s depend is prone to rise to 12 within the close to future, however till then they continue to be on 11.

Luka Modric (2018) is Los Blancos‘ most up-to-date winner, although no participant has claimed extra Ballon d’Ors for the Spanish giants than Cristiano Ronaldo (2013, 2014, 2016, 2017). Ronaldo has really received the award 5 instances total, although the primary of his triumphs got here in 2008 throughout his first stint at Manchester United.

Skipping again even additional by way of the annals, Actual have Fabio Cannavaro (2008), Ronaldo Nazario (2002), Luis Figo (2000), Alfredo Di Stefano (1957, 1959) and Raymond Kopa (1958) to thank for finishing their spectacular assortment.

Juventus (8 winners, 6 gamers)

Juventus’ most up-to-date Ballon d’Or win got here again in 2003, when Czech Republic maestro Pavel Nedved performed his option to the trophy, narrowly pipping Thierry Henry of Arsenal within the operating.

Earlier than that, Zinedine Zidane (1998) and Roberto Baggio (1993) each received the award within the Nineties, whereas Michel Platini (1983, 1984, 1985) and Paolo Rossi (1982) ensured a flawless four-year sweep in the course of the mid-’80s.

Nonetheless, the Bianconeri‘s maiden Ballon d’Or was claimed all the best way again in 1961, when the good Omar Sivori took the honours after firing the membership to the Scudetto for the third time in 4 years.

AC Milan (8 winners, 6 gamers)

Whereas level-pegging with their Serie A counterparts, Milan solely have to return to 2007 to seek out their final Ballon d’Or winner in Kaka, who lifted the award three years after teammate and strike accomplice Andriy Shevchenko (2004) did likewise.

The Rossoneri additionally took the prize six instances earlier than 2000 due to George Weah (1995), Marco van Basten (1988, 1989, 1992), Ruud Gullit (1987) and Gianni Rivera (1969.)



Don Hutchison and Jan Age Fjortoft imagine Robert Lewandowski ought to have received the lads’s Ballon d’Or.

Bayern Munich (5 wins, 3 gamers)

Though it by no means got here to cross as a result of circumstances past anyone’s management, Bayern ought to have seen their participant raise the Ballon d’Or in 2020 — thus disrupting an impervious Barcelona-Actual Madrid duopoly that had been operating since 2009.

Lewandowski completed second within the vote behind Messi for the 2021 award, which led the Argentine to congratulate his Polish up to date throughout his acceptance speech.

“I might like to say Robert, it has been an actual honour to compete with him. Everybody is aware of and we agree that you just had been the winner final 12 months. I believe [award organisers] France Soccer ought to award you your 2020 Ballon d’Or, you deserved it,” Messi stated from the rostrum.

Lewandowski wasn’t fairly so courteous within the aftermath. “I am not that keen about getting the 2020 award,” he instructed Polish outlet Kanale Sportowym. “I would love [Messi’s speech] to be a honest and courteous assertion from an awesome participant and never simply empty phrases.”

With Lewandowski lacking out in 2020, Bayern should go all the best way again to 1981 to seek out their most up-to-date Ballon d’Or recipient, with Karl-Heinz Rummenigge gathering the award for a second consecutive 12 months. The German membership dominated the scene all through the last decade prior with the legendary Franz Beckenbauer (1972, 1976) and Gerd Muller (1970) finishing the set.

Manchester United (4 wins, 4 gamers)

Ronaldo is the final Manchester United participant to win the Ballon d’Or (2008) and even earn a lot as a congratulatory nod within the prime three of the voting.

David Beckham (second, 1999) and Eric Cantona (third, 1993) each made it onto the rostrum within the house of a decade, however United’s earlier Ballon d’Or winner was George Greatest all the best way again in 1968. Greatest was the final of United’s famed “Holy Trinity” to say the award, following Sir Bobby Charlton (1966) and Denis Legislation (1964.)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.