Teamwork makes the dream work

Copa America: Biggest ever gamers


Numerous legends have participated within the Copa America since its inception in 1916, however 4 gamers stand above the remainder as the best to ever lace up their boots within the worldwide match.

The world will get to witness the perfect skills in South American soccer each time the Copa America unfolds. Though Argentina, Uruguay, and Brazil have historically dominated the competitors, an increasing number of nations have proved they’re worthy of lifting the trophy during the last century. Profitable such a troublesome match requires elite teamwork, goalkeeping, and naturally, goalscorers.

Take a look at the 4 biggest ever gamers within the Copa America’s lengthy historical past.

4. Eduardo Vargas (Chile)

Eduardo Vargas

Chile’s Eduardo Vargas / Jonathan Moscrop/GettyImages

Eduardo Vargas led Chile to back-to-back Copa America titles in 2015 and 2016, overcoming Lionel Messi and Argentina in each finals. Though Vargas has by no means received the Copa America Finest Participant award, the ahead has two Golden Boots after he netted probably the most objectives within the 2015 and 2016 tournaments.

In actual fact, Vargas presently has the fifth most objectives within the competitors’s historical past with 14. If he has one other breakout match this summer time, then he may grow to be the all-time main scorer within the Copa America.

3. Ronaldo (Brazil)


Brazil’s Ronaldo / ALEJANDRO PAGNI/GettyImages

Brazil’s Ronaldo is one other participant who has back-to-back Copa America titles. Ronaldo and Brazil received the 1997 and the 1999 Copa America, largely due to the striker’s ten whole objectives throughout each tournaments.

Ronaldo received the Copa America Finest Participant award after scoring 5 objectives in 1997, and adopted up his spectacular efficiency with 5 extra objectives within the subsequent version of the match. The legendary participant even scored in each Copa America finals in opposition to Bolivia and Uruguay respectively.

2. Lionel Messi (Argentina)


Argentina’s Lionel Messi / CARL DE SOUZA/GettyImages

Even with out successful a Copa America title, Lionel Messi would have nonetheless been one of many biggest gamers to take part within the competitors. Regardless of dropping to Chile within the 2015 Copa America closing, Messi acquired the Copa America Finest Participant award for his efficiency all through the match.

Messi solidified his legacy for Argentina within the 2021 Copa America when he lastly led his nation to their first Copa America title since 1993. Not solely did Messi take house the last word trophy, however he additionally acquired the Copa America Finest Participant award and the Golden Boot after scoring 4 objectives and tallying 5 assists.

Like Vargas, Messi additionally has an opportunity to grow to be the all-time prime goalscorer within the 2024 match. The Inter Miami participant presently sits in seventh place with 13 whole objectives.

1. Norberto Méndez (Argentina)

Norberto "Tucho" Mendez.

Argentina’s Norberto “Tucho” Mendez / AFP/Getty Photographs/GettyImages

The best participant within the historical past of the Copa America must be Norberto “Tucho” Mendez. The Argentinian presently holds the the document for probably the most objectives scored within the match’s 108-year existence with 17.

Mendez’s contributions helped Argentina safe three consecutive Copa America titles in 1945, 1946, and 1947. Virtually 70 years later, Argentina are nonetheless the one nation to ever threepeat.